Paris France – digital stortelling and adventures- June- July 2011

samia in paris

Graffiti paris

Marika

marika

I have been invited to Paris France to Participate in the 2nd International Indigenous World people’s campus in Rueon ( west of Paris ). I decided to arrive early so I could adjust to the jet lag and of course spend time in the beautiful city of Paris . On hearing that I would also be in Paris for a few days the wonderful people here that I had met last year during a conference in Canberra with AIATSIS Invited and organised for me to present the ideas behind the community engagement projects I have done using Digital storytelling and my reseach. Of course this was also a wonderful chance to share about the work of Pelican Expeditions( see previous links and posts ) and specifically the work with the Hopevale community on Cape york. I shared the history and aboout how the project that we created there with using the digital stories developed and also spoke about some of the wider ideas and issues impacting Aboriginal and Torres Strait people’s in Australia. I also shared about the projects developing that focus on creating ways to build community and the work of linking science and Indigenous knowledges into living curriculumn , something that Natalie Davey one of the Pelican founders , has worked very hard on in the past few years to bring ” old – ways and NeW ways ” Together and a link a number of us share as a vision.

Galerie Michel - presentation

Anyway , here are some pictures of my first 48 hours in Paris , more to come soon.

~ by samiastories on 24 June, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

